Ellen Dee Davidson

Thank you, Susan Bennett and HSU Staff for inviting me to be a Guest Lecturer!

Magazine Article
Boulder Home & Garden Magazine, September 2013
Fiction
A humorous picture book about a spoiled princess.
Young adult fantasy about a young woman who must find her Talent or lose social status.
A short picture book that promotes tolerance while teaching shapes and colors.

Stolen Voices

"An excellent piece of science fiction, rated ESSENTIAL -- first priority for purchasing no matter how small or large your budget."
--Cindy Mitchell, President, Utah Educational Library Media Association

From School Library Journal:
"Grade 6-9. In the vein of The Giver and Brave New World, and told through lyrical language that creates electrifying sounds and visuals, this book uncovers the problems in a puppet-mastered utopia. As a 15-year-old in Noveskina, Miri is about to go through the Masking ritual that will bond her to her age-mates. According to the rules of her society, everyone must have a talent to be Masked, and, when hers is not revealed, she is relegated to being a servant for the rest of her life. Instead, Miri decides to run from the Masker and her fate, and discovers the Secret Valley, where people are not restrained by the politeness and creepy accord of Noveskina. She also discovers the sinister secret behind her world. However, it is Miris choice to fight everything she has known that has the most powerful impact. While the story ends a little too neatly, it is definitely a page-turner that will keep readers captivated from the start. Recommend it to teen girls struggling with their identity and teachers looking for a fresh glimpse of a society in which free will has been removed."
-–Rainey Wyatt, Louisville Free Public Library, KY

Shortlisted, American Library Association Amelia Bloomer Project, honoring feminist books for youth (2006)

Selected, International Youth Library 2006 White Ravens catalogue of outstanding children's & YA books

Reviewed in School Library Journal, Locus, VOYA, ForeWord, KLIATT, genrefluent.com, teensreadtoo.com, and by Cindy Mitchell, President of the Utah Educational Library Media Association

Selected by an Ontario School Board to be in the "Battle of the Books" along with classics like The Giver and Witch at Blackbird Pond

Translated into German and Danish

Quick Links

Find Authors